The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

It’s award season and everyone is hoping they’ll be chosen to win in the category for which they were nominated. I thank Smorgasbord – Variety is the Spice of Life for nominating me for the “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award.” I hope everyone who has been nominated for this will keep it moving forward. If you are unable to accept the nomination, please accept the bouquet of flowers (at the bottom of this post) instead along with my hearty thanks for your contributions to the reading pleasure of countless people across the internet.

sisterhood-of-the-world-bloggers-award11

There are of course a few rules attached to this award which are as follows:

Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.
Put the Award logo on your blog.
Answer the ten questions below.
Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.
Nominate seven blogs.

Here are the seven blogs that I have nominated:

1. Night Owl Kitchen – Cooking the midnight oil. A lovely website with easy to prepare, tried and true recipes, kitchen tips, crafts and sharing useful ways that women with PCOS can be healthier.

2. 2Me4Art – Life as I see It. Amy Saab’s website filled with artwork and photos. I so enjoy receiving her latest blog posts.

3. Opusanglicanum – One Englishwoman’s Work. A wonderful website devoted to the textiles of the Middle Ages. Honestly, I need a mop and bucket for all my drooling when I visit her blog.

4. Kylie Betzner – One woman’s literary playground. A writer who has just published her first book. Her enthusiasm spills over into her blog. It’s impossible not to jump up and down with her.

5. Elaine Jeremiah – My thoughts on writing. I enjoying finding new (to me) writers and pointing others in their direction.

6. Cooking with a Wallflower – lots of yummy recipes with lovely photographs, blog tips and helpful printables.

7. Barbara Pyett – Sharing thoughts via writing. There’s a lot more to this blog than just writing. Book/movie reviews, painting, art, sculpture, language, and humor just for starters.

Here are the ten questions for the seven blogs I have nominated:

1. Of the four seasons, which is your favorite and why?
2. What piece of advice have you never been able to forget?
3. What’s the first thing you tend to read on anyone’s blog?
4. If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go and what would you see?
5. Coffee or tea, and how do you like it prepared?
6. What is the one staple you keep in your kitchen no matter what?
7. Do you collect anything? (Figurines, coins, stamps, etc.?)
8. What is your favorite dessert?
9. If you had a past life, what country and time period would you be from, and why?
10. Which room/place in your house is your favorite?

Here are the questions I was given to answer.

Would you skydive if given the opportunity?
No, but a ride in a hot air balloon would be magic.

Which three people would you like on a desert island with you and why?
My husband because he’s my best friend, my daughter because she’s an excellent companion, and a survivalist like David Canterbury or Michael Hawke. These days, I’m too practical.

How far would you walk for a bar of chocolate?
Only as far as would be necessary, which wouldn’t be far since we have places within a five minute walk that sell chocolate.

Have you ever been caught out by a white lie (or bigger if you prefer)?
Haven’t we all? People usually tell white lies to prevent hurting someone’s feelings. For example – Q: “Honey, does this make me look fat?” A: “Sure does. That’s why I’m sleeping with your best friend.” Then there’s a shriek followed by a slap. See, he should have used a little white lie.

Would you go into space if offered the opportunity?
If I could do it a la Star Trek, yes. “Beam me up, Scotty!” Otherwise, no.

Given a choice between Romance, Science Fiction or Crime which book would you choose and why?
Oh, a Romance, hands down. It’s what I love to read and what I love to write. Romance novels can easily have elements of suspense, fantasy, sci-fi, horror, paranormal, etc. It’s a very versatile genre.

Which is your favourite music group and favourite song?
Boy, that’s a tough one. I grew up with all kinds of music (I play the piano), and married a man who loves all kinds of music (he played the organ and piano, his mother was a choir director). It’s hard to pick just one group and one song. I will say this: I love the monster ballads of the 1980’s, songs from the Golden Age of Hollywood (including musicals), a small amount of Country music (like Alabama and Brad Paisley), Church hymns and the classics, of course – Mozart, Rachmaninoff, Handel, etc. When I write, there are certain types of music I listen to that fits with the style story. Whew! Long answer. So sorry.

If you could have any job in the world what would it be and why?
How about Queen of England? She’s the head of one of the oldest empires in the world, she gets to live in a variety of castles and manors, and she’s surrounded by incredible history. But, since there’s no chance of getting her job, then I’d live in the UK and become an archaeologist.

What was your best subject at school?
It’s a toss-up. English and History were my favorites. I couldn’t get enough of either.

Which author living or dead would you love to have over for dinner and talk all night with?
There are many I could choose from, but the first would have to be Elizabeth Lowell. She, along with several others, were a positive influence on my writing and fueled my desire to write romance novels.

And here for those of you who have not the time or do not accept awards is a colorful bouquet of flowers. I offer them as an alternative to the award, as a way for me to say thank you for the work you put into making your blog a joy to read.

bouquet of flowers

One thought on “The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Thank you very much for the nomination! You’re so sweet to think of my blog 🙂 Truly, it is an honor to be recognized and to have others see and appreciate the effort that goes into the Night Owl Kitchen blog. Have a very blessed Valentines Day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

